What's new for me this week?

·

2 min read

Summer vacation officially began Friday evening. My kids have been out of school for about two weeks, but my eldest son was vacationing with his grandmother. Since his return Friday evening I am now at home with all three kiddos for the rest of the summer. For me not much will change; I will still have my schoolwork and house duties, but I will at least have him around to help with my youngest.

I have been working on my master's degree for about three months now, and so far I feel like a mixed bag somewhere between totally confused and this can't be real. After completing my bachelor's degree in February, many of my friends told me that I should take a break from school and get some 'real world' experience. I knew, of course, that if I stopped taking classes, I would not want to go back and finish. I'm more of a grind it out and get it done kind of person, regardless of the task in front of me (except for laundry, please can I stop doing laundry?).

This week I am digging further into the weeds of operating systems. Last week I worked through the intricacies of hardware and software interrupts, and I found it a bit confusing. Before that I was learning about how virtual memory works. That was quite interesting, indeed. Not to worry, this week the topic is file systems and directories. I thought I had a decent idea about how directories worked and what went into them, but as it turns out, things aren't as simple as they seem.

Unfortunately I have not been able to get down to writing code for several weeks now. I really need to get back at it; I already feel like I am starting to forget the things that I worked so hard to learn. I'm making a pact with myself that I will spend at least 15 minutes each day either writing here or writing code on codepen. I will try to make every effort that I can to link those to the blog when I get a chance.

For now, I just wanted to get my first "Hello world" complete by way of writing this first post. I look forward to sharing my thoughts with you all here. For now, I bid you farewell.

while(!dead){
eat();
sleep();
learn();
code();
}

-Kione