Working with terminal commands

·

1 min read

Today I dove into the terminal of my MacBook Air to work through a few prompts from my operating systems class. I was prompted to use these two commands:

du -h

and

df -h

Before this, I had not really done anything in the Mac terminal. I generally stay away from it because I'm not really up to speed on what I'm doing there. I looked up the du and df commands as well as what the -h means. Wow, what a surprise when I ran the first of those two commands. I was supplied a list that felt a mile long and it was basically gibberish to me. Time to run the other command!

The df command was much easier to actually get information from. I was shown the space availability of my drive. This proved interesting because I could see exactly how much space was being used by the system, how much was available for me to use, and how much I was actually using. While this was a short task, it was informative and I'm glad that I followed the steps to see what was happening on my system.

That's all for now.

while(!dead){
eat();
sleep();
learn();
code();
}

-Kione